Blend and Frost Bank expanded their partnership on Oct 13, 2021, adding mortgage, consumer banking, and deposit products to Blend's platform. The two previously worked together on home equity loans and lines of credit. Frost Bank will now offer a unified digital experience across all consumer banking lines.
Bank Leumi partnered with Galaxy Digital to offer digital asset trading, making it the first bank in Israel to do so. The deal was announced on Aug 14, 2026. Details of the custody or infrastructure arrangement were not disclosed.
On Aug 04, 2026, the OCC denied a Dutch fintech's application to establish a national bank in New York. The agency cited concerns over capitalization, management experience, and compliance. The proposed bank would have offered deposit accounts and unsecured credit cards through a subscription model.
Entities: Office of the Comptroller of the Currency (OCC)
Community Bank Bangladesh PLC and SplitPay Bangladesh Limited signed an MoU on Aug 14, 2026, to expand student financing in Bangladesh. The partnership will use digital platforms to cover tuition, accommodation and other academic costs.
Entities: Community Bank Bangladesh PLC · SplitPay Bangladesh Limited
The FDIC updated its de novo bank application process, adding a conditional approval phase. The agency is also emphasizing collaboration with other bank-chartering agencies to improve efficiency. The changes were announced on Aug 13, 2026.
The Central Bank of Nigeria opened applications for the second cohort of its Regulatory Sandbox Programme. Applications close Aug 31, 2026. The programme includes tracks for virtual asset service providers and data-enabled financial services.
SILQ closed a $100 million financing facility from Gemcorp Capital, Fasanara Capital, and Amwal Capital Partners. The funding will expand Fina, SILQ's embedded financing platform for SMEs. The deal coincides with SILQ's first anniversary since the merger of Saudi B2B platform Sary and South Asia's ShopUp.
Citi's U.S. Consumer Cards business agreed to acquire Kard Financial, Inc., a commerce media and rewards platform serving banks and fintechs. Terms were not disclosed. The deal is subject to customary closing conditions.
Paisalo Digital signed a ₹500 crore co-lending MoU with FatakPay on Aug 13, 2026. The deal follows an 80:20 funding split, with Paisalo providing 80% of the capital for loans targeting MSMEs and micro-enterprises. Paisalo will also handle KYC verification and customer data storage.
Jio Financial Services and Bank of America signed a definitive agreement on Aug 12, 2026, for BofA to acquire up to 49.9% of Jio Credit Limited through equity shares and warrants. The deal is valued at approximately ₹18,268 crore (~$1.9 billion). Jio Credit's board will have equal representation from both parties.
Entities: Jio Financial Services · Bank of America · Jio Credit Ltd
Flywire expanded its partnership with Trustly to offer "Pay by Bank" open banking payments across the U.S. and Canada. Payers can authorize domestic and cross-border payments via ACH and Pre-Authorized Debit directly from their bank accounts in local currency. The two companies first partnered in 2017 in Europe.
Rain, a stablecoin payments infrastructure provider, acquired Uptop, an onchain card-linked rewards platform. The deal follows Rain's $58 million Series B and adds native rewards to its enterprise card and wallet stack. Uptop will continue to operate as an independent brand under Rain.
StoneX entered a definitive agreement to acquire Banco Travelex, Brazil's first bank dedicated exclusively to foreign exchange. The combined operation is expected to handle roughly $6 billion in annual volume across about 20,000 clients. The deal follows StoneX's recent investment in Bamboo Payments.
Banglalink, VEON's Bangladesh subsidiary, received a Payment Service Provider licence from Bangladesh Bank on Aug 12, 2026. The licence authorizes the telecom operator to launch digital payment services under the brand Mukto Pay. Banglalink targets a commercial launch in September 2026.
Yuno closed a $45 million Series B round led by Global PayTech Ventures on Aug 12, 2026. Andreessen Horowitz, Tiger Global, QuantumLight Capital, Monashees, Kaszek, and Endeavor Catalyst participated. Regional investors Rasmal Ventures, Further Ventures, and GrowthX Capital also joined.
Entities: Yuno · Global PayTech Ventures · Andreessen Horowitz · Tiger Global · QuantumLight Capital · Monashees · Kaszek · Endeavor Catalyst · Rasmal Ventures · Further Ventures · GrowthX Capital
RBI Governor Sanjay Malhotra announced on Aug 11, 2026, that the central bank will provide banks with a Digital Payment Intelligence Platform to combat fraud. The platform will use AI and machine learning to identify fraudulent transactions. Malhotra stressed that human oversight must accompany AI adoption.
Katapult Holdings completed its all-stock merger with The Aaron's Company and CCF Holdings on Aug 11, 2026. The combined entity serves nonprime consumers through lease-to-own and alternative finance products. It generated more than $4 billion in 2025 pro forma revenue.
Entities: Katapult Holdings · The Aaron's Company · CCF Holdings
Royal Bank of Canada and BMO agreed to sell Moneris Solutions, their jointly owned payments firm, to Francisco Partners for roughly C$2 billion. Both banks will keep commercial ties through exclusive, long-term referral arrangements. The deal ends a 25-year bank-owned joint venture.
Entities: Royal Bank of Canada · Bank of Montreal · Moneris Solutions · Francisco Partners
Vietcombank partnered with Virtusa to build VCB Corporate DigiBank, a greenfield corporate banking platform. The project kicked off on Jul 30, 2026 in Hanoi. Initial phases cover account management and payments, with lending and trade finance to follow.
Fairstone Bank of Canada and Best Buy Canada renewed their exclusive point-of-sale financing partnership on Aug 11, 2026. The deal extends Fairstone's embedded lending presence across Best Buy's retail and online channels. Financing is delivered through Fairstone Financial Inc., a Fairstone Bank subsidiary.
Entities: Fairstone Bank of Canada · Best Buy Canada
The People's Bank of China authorized Deutsche Bank to serve as the renminbi clearing bank in Frankfurt. Deutsche Bank became the first European bank to hold this designation. The role covers RMB clearing and settlement services for European financial institutions and corporate clients.
BYLD Finance selected ChargeAfter's embedded lending platform to power its expansion into consumer point-of-sale financing for specialty equipment retailers. The integration enables a multi-lender waterfall system at checkout. Stitch It International is the first retailer to deploy the offering.
MVB Bank selected Bretton AI to deliver AI-native managed services for anti-money laundering transaction monitoring and know-your-customer operations. A dedicated US-based Bretton AI team will handle alerts and enhanced due diligence under MVB's policies. Pricing is tied to completed work rather than analyst hours.
UnionPay International signed an MoU with Al Etihad Payments on Jul 21, 2026, to enable global acceptance of Jaywan cards through UPI rails. A pilot phase will begin in mainland China before expanding to other markets.
Entities: Etihad Payments · UnionPay International